Hugh B - Live From The Gonsch
Hugh B - Live From The Gonsch
Hugh B - Live From The Gonsch

Hugh B - Live From The Gonsch

Regular price $13.00 Sale

Label: Not Not Fun Records – NNF404
Format: Cassette
Country: US

Live From The Gonsch showcases Sydney head (and O.T.I.S. label boss) Hugh Burridge aka Hugh B’s lesser known domestic dub mode, low-slung and low volume, tracked on headphones during hidden hours, often with his daughter strapped to his chest. The album’s eight cuts are built from rhythmic modular loops layered with snaky bass, swampy guitar, and occasional hazed vocals, dub-mixed to 2-track cassette through hand-built FX (Burridge runs a boutique delay pedal business). The mood throughout is loose, soupy, and slippery, shaded in echo and spring reverb, glimpsed through tall grass.

The title alludes to Burridge’s recently retired Skylab radio show, “Mornings From The Gonsch,” which repped a spectrum of home recorded modes, from bedroom dub to hybrid new age to lost synth songcraft. Here he blends these muses into a woozy fusion all his own, dub-adjacent daydreams of time, money, stasis, and absence, hummed and half-heard beneath a bleached blue sky.


1. Things Can Only Get Worse
2. Work
3. Low Pressure Dub 
4. I'll Be Gone 
5. Leaving Now
6. Bored Never
7. Subtle Stasis
8. Astral Body