Rider/Horse – Select Trials
Rider/Horse – Select Trials

Rider/Horse – Select Trials

Regular price £24.00 Sale

Label: Ever/Never – e/n-063
Format:Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Released: 8 Oct 2021
Genre: Rock

One hundred miles north of New York City is a post-industrial hardscrabble up-and-down town called Kingston that currently lies somewhere in-between. Kingston is where Rider/Horse came to exist, and where they now call home. Before the Rider/Horse team-up, Cory played guitar and sang in Spray Paint, while Chris was a hired gun for the likes of Trans Am, Les Savy Fav and Scene Creamers.
When normal life forced them to press pause, the construction of Select Trials became an almost daily obsession/meditation for the duo. Recorded, assembled and mixed by Chris, with sounds from a makeshift dub zone set up in the (shuttered-at-the-time) venue Cory owns, Select Trials is a pitch-perfect distillation of C & C’s mithering. “Tremolo Harm” is a high-tension wire that leads into the horizon-vanishing tones of “Chime Inn.” Other tracks, like “Guns In The Snow” and “Prawn Ranch,” radiate with drum-driven menace, echoing Big Black’s foreboding clang. “Sleeping In The Box” drills deep into the salt of the earth, searching vainly for sustenance, while “Today’s Gains” hurts like a weary back after a long shift. Finally, “Nitetime White” pulls down the shades and blots out the sun. With Select Trials—the debut album from Rider/Horse—Ever/Never Records brings you a doozy for the ages.. (Mint / New)

A1 C & C 4441 3:39
A2 Tremolo Harm 2:11
A3 Chime Inn 3:14
A4 Guns In The Snow 2:21
A5 Code Clicker 4:13
A6 The Windows Are Your Arms 3:50
B1 Bodyslam 2:53
B2 Prawn Ranch 4:09
B3 Sleeping In Teh Box 3:47
B4 Today's Gains 2:44
B5 Nitetime White 4:28