Enhet För Fri Musik ‎– Ömhet & Skilsmässa
Enhet För Fri Musik ‎– Ömhet & Skilsmässa

Enhet För Fri Musik ‎– Ömhet & Skilsmässa

Regular price £24.00 Sale

Label: Discreet Music ‎– 03
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Sweden
Released: 05 Apr 2021
Genre: Electronic, Non-Music, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Abstract, Ambient, Field Recording, Nordic

Just about had time to shake the dust off after those two Förlag För Fri Musik stun grenades dropped what like 2 weeks ago from Astrid Øster Mortensen and Hugo Randulv, now Gothenburg’s flagship unit Enhet För Fri Musik returns on Discreet’s own eponymous label.  Ömhet & Skilsmässa in their own words is ’a concept album on relationships, family values and broken promises’, the group explores this in their typically collaged, loose and undefined form, drifting between moments of longing and loneliness to warmer, fuzzier feelings of tenderness and togetherness with sharp turns in phase.  But there’s a deeper level of intimacy throughout that has been less pronounced in their previous outings - Sofie Herner’s close, whisper-in-ear vocals instantly teleport us into the communal environment from where this music originates, channelling a properly zonk’d Spaceman 3 (An Evening Of Contemporary Sitar Music) vibe on ‘Född Med Tänder’ but reduced right down to barebones and topped with Blod’s charismatic recorder notes, whilst elsewhere it triggers warmer feelings of nostalgia or trouble down the road.  Even now, I’m still struggling to pinpoint what makes this music so captivating, maybe it’s the freeform openness to it all, or the way memories suddenly emerge out of murky / abrasive passages, sharp cuts from harsh to beautiful in the blink of an eye or the impulsive, unpretentiousness of it all.  Undisputed highlight of the year - keep ‘em coming!  (NM).

A1 Ömhet
A2 Orden Du Aldrig Säger
A3 Född Med Tänder
A4 Idag Är Det Bra
A5 Sol Över Oss
A6 Full (Igen)
A7 Psykos
A8 Intervention
A9 Flytten
B1 Opus 6 - Sommarljus
B2 En Bra Dag
B3 Kärlekens Nöjen
B4 Skörhet Är Ett Tecken På Existens
B5 Kvällssol Med Chablis
B6 Roslagens Famn
B7 När Barnen Somnat Börjar Det
B8 Stanna Kvar Hos Mig
B9 Skilsmässa