Vincent Barras / Jacques Demierre ‎– Au Homard
Vincent Barras / Jacques Demierre ‎– Au Homard

Vincent Barras / Jacques Demierre ‎– Au Homard

Regular price £30.00 Sale

Label: Mega Wave Orchestra ‎– MWO-03
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Switzerland
Released: 1988
Genre: Electronic, Non-Music
Style: Musique Concrète, Poetry, Experimental

Third instalment to the five-part Swiss Mega Wave Orchestra series via Vincent Barras and Jacques Demierre.  With deep roots within jazz and classical traditions, MWO pursued an interdisciplinary hybrid approach between the worlds of visual arts, moving image, mathematics and sound, bringing together musicians from disparate scenes and employing a sorta problem solving approach in mixing, arranging and producing at the hands of mathematician, composer and label overseer Christian Oestreicher.  Colliding the worlds of analogue and digital, here we see the wobbly embrace of the emergent late 80’s music technology together with robotic percussion and stark spoken word, all coated in its own polished FM synth sheen.  Oestreicher’s own studies into chaos theory seem to filter in, with the use of heavy repetition and the sense of organised disorder, whereas musically it recalls that killer Colman LP Musique Plastique unearthed in 2018 or some of the other more angular works for dance and theatre.. (VG+ / VG+).

A1 Echo 0:37
A2 Consonnes (Hommage À Arthur Rimbaud Et Carlo Russi) 5:07
A3 Echo 0:13
A4 Agripaume (Hommage Aux Banda Linda) 3:46
A5 Mercredi 7 Jeudi 8 (Hommage À Morton Feldmann) 5:17
A6 Post Card (Hommage À Edoardo Sanguineti) 4:22
B1 Echo 0:17
B2 Les Lons (Hommage À Hérophile Et Erasistrate) 5:38
B3 Mercredi 14 Jeudi 15 (Hommage À Walter Zimmermann 2:03
B4 Echo 0:17
B5 Commissions (Hommage À Bernard Heidsieck) 7:39