Various ‎– Yen卒業記念アルバム
Various ‎– Yen卒業記念アルバム

Various ‎– Yen卒業記念アルバム

Regular price £36.00 Sale

Label: Yen Records ‎– YLR-35001~2
Format: Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM
Vinyl, LP, Album, Compilation, Gatefold Sleeve
Country: Japan
Released: 25 May 1985
Genre: Electronic
Style: Synth-pop, Experimental

Mega mixed bag who's-who of 80s Japanese experimental synth-pop stuff - the final release that put the nail in the coffin for Hosono's incredibly influential Yen Records imprint. The exponential surge in interest in 80's Japanese music has rendered most of this lot household names and their output additionally fetishized, all the usuals are in attendance here, YMO and all their produced derivatives (Guernica, Inoyama Land ++) yet the most notable mention goes to the frustratingly illusive Testpattern whose highly infectious masterpiece Apres-Midi continues to be desperately out of reach for all. However, thankfully a version of 'Modern Living' finds its way onto this comp - a playful ode to the endless, excruciating MONOTONY of life - 'Life is work, work is life', lyrics to live by whilst grinding it out every-fucking-day for no clearly apparent reason. The sound of 10 million resolutely stoic salary men trudging their way to whatever pointless / homogeneous admin role they were sleeping at in Tokyo mid-80s. Elsewhere, dark horse Hajime Tachibana lets off a new version of 'Rock' - a vocoder heavy, synth-bomb that whips up some classic Kraftwork material into a proper bout of robotic electro fizz. Killer compilation.. if you only bought one Japanese record ever kinda thing.. (NM/NM - Japanese press with OBI + Insert etc).

A –Yen Artists 又会う日まで = God Be With You Till We Meet Again 7:42
B –Yen Artists Platonic Stochastic = 騒音譚詩 6:31
C1 –Yellow Magic Orchestra Rydeen (Remix Version) 3:26
C2 –立花ハジメ* Rock (New Recording) 3:22
C3 –Sandii & The Sunsetz Sticky Music (Remix French Version) 3:23
C4 –ゲルニカ* マロニエ読本 (Remix Version) 3:41
C5 –越 美晴* Petit Paradis (English Version) 3:38
C6 –Inoyama Land Pokala (Remix Version) 2:25
C7 –太田螢一* 西安の子供市場 (Remix Version) 3:46
C8 –上野耕路* Adagietto (Remix Version) 3:25
D1 –高橋幸宏* It's Gonna Work Out (Remix Version) 4:19
D2 –Super Eccentric Theater Beat The Rap (Remix Version) 3:18
D3 –Testpattern Modern Living (Remix Version) 4:08
D4 –戸川 純* 怒濤の恋愛 (New Recording) 1:40
D5 –Interior Hawks (Remix Version) 3:28
D6 –小池玉緒* 鏡の中の十月 (Remix Version) 3:40
D7 –細野晴臣* 夢見る約束 (Original Version) 3:18