Preening ‎– Dragged Through The Garden
Preening ‎– Dragged Through The Garden

Preening ‎– Dragged Through The Garden

Regular price £24.00 Sale

Label: Ever/Never ‎– e/n-049
Format: Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM, EP
Country: US
Released: 05 Feb 2021
Genre: Rock

Four years into Preening’s existence and the Bay Area trio hasn’t shown any signs of stagnation–they remain committed to the urge to move forward, to push themselves and their audience. Thus, the restless and relentless motion of Preening’s new 12” EP on Ever/Never Records, who also released 2018’s excellent Greasetrap Frisbee 7”. Preening sounds more than ever like no one but themselves–Max and Alejandra’s duel (sic) vocals and sax/bass interplay is masterfully augmented and driven by Sam’s all-hands-on- deck drumming. “Twinning” exemplifies all of these aspects, achieving a head-spinning velocity occasionally interrupted by sections that mimic drips and chimes amidst the cacophony. This is dance music for sleep-deprived geniuses and those who love them. “Rapt Fashions” demands to know “Whose body is this anyway?” And then, to drive the theme of dislocation home, the EP ends with a wigged-out “Extortion” dub mix by Andy Human (of The World/Naked Roommate/ Reptoids) & Brett Eastman (Reptoids). Dragged Through The Garden proves that Preening and Ever/ Never continue to deliver the goods, and then some.

A1 Barn K.P.
A2 No Season
A3 Economy Head
A4 Twinning
A5 Red Red Lava
B1 Autocon
B2 You Gave It Away
B3 Rapt Fashion
B4 Extortion (Version)