Mhysa – Nevaeh
Mhysa – Nevaeh

Mhysa – Nevaeh

Regular price $16.00 Sale

Label: Hyperdub – HDBLP047
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: UK
Released: Feb 13, 2020
Genre: Electronic
Style: Experimental, Ethereal, Minimal

NEVAEH is MHYSA’s intimate reflection on the black femme experience from multiple vantage points ranging from sex and sexuality, self-love and self-discovery, black empowerment and lineage, pleasure and lack of it. She describe the album as “a prayer for Black women and femmes to be taken to or find a new and better world away from the apocalypse…NEVAEH is a safe space, a sort of negro heaven.” These ideas are declared from the opening skit where MHYSA reads out Lucille Clifton’s 1994 poem “won’t you celebrate with me”... (NM/NM)

A1 Opening Skit
A2 Float
A3 Before The World Ends
A4 Na Na Drift
A5 When The Saints (interlude)
A6 Sad Slutty Baby Wants More For The World
A7 Ropeburn
A8 W/me Interlude
A9 W/me
A10 No Freedom
A11 Breaker Of Chains
B1 Sanaa Lathan
B2 Honey, Sweetie, Baby
B3 Bbygurl
B4 Brand Nu
B5 BELIEVE Interlude
B6 No Weapon Formed Against You Shall Prosper
B7 When The Saints (reprise)