Harry Smith – Anthology Of American Folk Music Volume Four: Rhythmic Changes
Harry Smith – Anthology Of American Folk Music Volume Four: Rhythmic Changes

Harry Smith – Anthology Of American Folk Music Volume Four: Rhythmic Changes

Regular price £75.00 Sale

Label: Mississippi Records – MRP-073
Series: Anthology Of American Folk Music – Volume Four: Rhythmic Changes
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue, 200 Gram
Country: US
Released: 2014
Genre: Blues, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country Blues, Country, Field Recording, Gospel, Folk

HEAVY clothbound 2LP boxset of early US country / folk selected and sequenced by Harry Smith published by Mississippi Records.  (NM)

The fourth volume of the anthology was never finished by Harry Smith. He managed to choose and sequence the tracks but never submitted liner notes to Folkways. Revenant Records released a version of this volume in the late 1990s with excellent liner notes and packaging. For the current release the Mississippi label have decided not to include any liner notes and conform the packaging to the same style as the first three volumes. This volume explores rhythmic changes that occurred in folk music between the late 1920s and early 1940s. Each volume is a double LP, housed in a cloth bound super thick cardboard gatefold sleeve with a tip on print on the front. The vinyl is 200 gram.

A1 Memphis Jug Band– Memphis Shakedown 3:04
A2 Bradley Kincaid– Dog And Gun (An Old English Ballad) 3:25
A3 The Carter Family– Black Jack David 2:41
A4 Blue Sky Boys– Down On The Banks Of The Ohio 3:20
A5 Arthur Smith Trio– Adieu False Heart 2:51
A6 J.E. Mainer's Mountaineers– John Henry Was A Little Boy 3:13
A7 Monroe Brothers– Nine Pound Hammer Is Too Heavy 2:14
B1 Jesse James (3)– Southern Casey Jones 2:56
B2 Jack Kelly And His South Memphis Jug Band– Cold Iron Bed 3:07
B3 Lead Belly*– Packin' Trunk 2:57
B4 Joe Williams' Washboard Blues Singers– Baby Please Don't Go 3:25
B5 Robert Johnson– Last Fair Deal Gone Down 2:42
B6 Bukka White– Parchman Farm Blues 2:40
B7 Heavenly Gospel Singers– Mean Old World 2:48
C1 The Carter Family– Hello Stranger 2:46
C2 Sister Clara Hudmon– Stand By Me 3:13
C3 Al Hopkins And His Buckle Busters– West Virginia Gals 3:05
C4 Blind Alfred Reed– How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live? 3:16
C5 Uncle Dave Macon– Wreck Of The Tennessee Gravy Train 3:11
C6 Uncle Dave Macon– Governor Al Smith 3:08
C7 John Estes*– Milk Cow Blues 3:05
D1 The Carter Family– No Depression In Heaven 2:57
D2 Roosevelt Graves And Brother– I'll Be Rested (When The Roll Is Called) 2:32
D3 Memphis Minnie– He's In The Ring (Doing The Same Old Thing) 2:59
D4 Minnie Wallace– The Cockeyed World 3:02
D5 Mississippi Jook Band– Barbecue Bust 2:41
D6 Hackberry Ramblers– Dans Le Grand Bois (In The Forest) 2:35
D7 The Four Aces (2)– Aces' Breakdown 2:54