General Magic & Pita – Fridge Trax Plus
General Magic & Pita – Fridge Trax Plus

General Magic & Pita – Fridge Trax Plus

Regular price £18.00 Sale

Label: Editions Mego – EMEGO 001
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Compilation
Country: Austria
Released: May 22, 2015
Genre: Electronic, Non-Music
Style: Experimental, Abstract, Noise, Techno, Field Recording

20th year anniversary reissue of the two milestone releases that kickstarted the entire Mego / Editions Mego imprint and initial aesthetic. This deluxe reissue brings together the first MEGO release, ‘Fridge Trax’ and the full length album that followed ‘Live and final Fridge’, originally released on Source in 1995.

Made by the founders of the initial Mego label, Peter Rehberg (Pita), alongside Andreas Pieper and Ramon Bauer (General Magic) these recordings are legendary in their execution. It was these pioneering releases, along with the earlier Warp and Sahko output, that really pushed abstraction squarely into the formally safe realm of dance music. The results were amongst the most influential musical offerings of the period and the paths laid out have been traversed by many a sonic explorer to this day.
Both the EP and full length were made via the same process whereby microphones were placed in a fridge in order to harvest the unusual microscopic sound world within. The resulting hums, buzzes, flickers and icy drones were then reassembled and reconstructed to make an assortment of tracks which range from rhythmic, ambient and glacial straight on through to the downright bizarre.
Fridge Trax is landmark release, a white good rearranged as awry ambience and freak funk. One which still resides fresh and aside from the pack 20 years on.. (NM/VG+)

A1 Deep Fridge
A2 Dope Fridge
B1 Funk Fridge
B2 Theme Fridge
B3 Thaw Fridge
B4 Spring Fridge
B5 Deeper Fridge
C1 Shuffle Fridge
C2 Phunk Fridge
C3 Cool Fridge
C4 Ding Fridge
D1 Raw Fridge
D2 Final Fridge