Enrique Mateu De Villavicencio – Formas Millares
Enrique Mateu De Villavicencio – Formas Millares

Enrique Mateu De Villavicencio – Formas Millares

Regular price £40.00 Sale

Label: Grabaciones Accidentales – GA-135
Series: El Cometa De Madrid
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Spain
Released: 1987
Genre: Electronic
Style: New Age, Minimal

Heavily Contrasted debut LP from Spanish guitar player and producer Enrique Mateu De Villavicencio on the cult and more avant-garde leaning El Cometa De Madrid series offshoot from Madrid underground label Grabaciones Accidentales.  In conduction with the likes of Miguel Herrero, Orquesta De Las Nubes (Suzo Saiz) and Luis Delgado (Finis Africae), the label cemented a recognisable sound for Iberian music within the experimental world - soft, iridescent guitars woven into heady tribal patterns with a strong 4th world feel and hovering new-age electronics.  Undoubtably, some bits have aged better than others and on occasions it slips over into white linen suit + sandals, or much better put ‘Pyjama Music’ (all shouts to Kenny White for that one) territory - but to my knowledge it’s one of the most cohesive bodies of underground music made on the Iberian Peninsula.  This 1987 release ‘Formas Millares’ is a tale of two halves.  The a-side threads a series of lilting, happy / sad guitar pieces together with a heavy emphasis on simplicity, harmony, melody and tone, all very much in keeping with the evening walk down the beach feel outlined above and inline with the coveted ‘organic sound’ principles established by Chee Shimizu’s book of the same name.  The ‘Formas’ side on the B-side pushes the compositional forms and centres on studio experimentation.  Canned drum machine stutters and flickers around Mateu’s  now more varied playing techniques, whilst tones are twisted, reversed and augmented electronically giving the feel of an imaginary soundtrack of whatever takes your fancy.  A strong case for a deep dive into the sound of Madrid’s 80’s underground.. (Mint / New - deadstock copy).

A1 Mina 5:31
A2 Primero El Interior 9:21
A3 Su Precioso Coral 3:53
A4 El Cometa 4:25
B1 Formas Millares 4:56
B2 Dialectos I - Engranada 1:51
B3 Dialectos II - Corumplo 2:10
B4 Dialectos III - Cobarte 2:48
B5 Cantico 4:53
B6 Orientate 6:34