banana – Mind Sketches
banana – Mind Sketches
banana – Mind Sketches

banana – Mind Sketches

Regular price $17.00 Sale

Label: conatala – conatala tapes 02
Format: Cassette
Country: Japan
Released: 2023
Genre: Electronic
Style: Experimental, Ambient, New Wave

Eccentric retrograde hardware creations from cult Tokyo-based musician and visual artist Banana via the great Conatala label.

Banana has made a name for himself as a resident DJ at the listening party “ideala” held at Forestlimit in Hatagaya, Tokyo, and has expanded his activities beyond this to VJs and video installation solo exhibitions at Tata bookshop/gallery in Koenji. During this time he was also making music, sharing only with his close friends and publishing occasionally on Soundcloud. This is a 16 track compilation album from that collection.

From what we know about Banana, he regularly roams the generic outer suburbs of Tokyo, raiding the notorious Hard Off recycle store chain in pursuit of discarded, unwanted, obsolete and obscure electronic instruments that never made it off the domestic market.  It’s this that characterised his vintage sound (and love of Laser Discs), laced with a sense of playfulness that’s somewhere between the synth-centric, upwardly mobile library records on KPM or Patchwork and pure unadulterated home studio fun.

Playing with the sense of time, utilising the synthesiser completely played by hand and the bare rhythm machine, Banana’s sound is totally unique - together with the mutant sound library created influenced by the various records and cassettes that banana collects. A one-off obscure track collection with textures reminiscent of the home recording scene in the 80's, but with a pulse that has been shaped through electronic music’s journey through various strands of techno music…(mint / new - with DL)

A1 帰宅 3:06
A2 Dance 1 3:04
A3 I Bought A Picture 2:59
A4 Seaside Genocide 3:31
A5 Shotgun Teacher 4:43
A6 Too Many Insects 4:47
A7 With A Broken Time Machine 2:59
A8 Tranceparent Walker 2:59
B1 Rainbow Dance 3:04
B2 Rainy Days Of Desert 2:41
B3 Springs 3 3:57
B4 川崎 4:09
B5 緑 2:15
B6 水槽 3:59
B7 Ikumouzai 3:35
B8 Children 4:46