B12 ‎– Electro-Soma
B12 ‎– Electro-Soma

B12 ‎– Electro-Soma

Regular price $35.00 Sale

Label: Warp Records – WARP LP9R
Series: Artificial Intelligence – 4
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Repress, Stereo
Country: UK
Released: 24 Aug 2017
Genre: Electronic
Style: IDM, Techno

Prime-time UK techno staple from B12 duo Michael Golding and Steve Rutter on their debut album Electro-Soma.  Dropped in 1993 as the 4th instalment to Warp's 'Artificial Intelligence' series - a run of era-defining releases sought to take the emergent sounds and styles within electronic music and reposition at home, away from the club - for the mind rather than the body.  B12's emotionally aware, intricate productions fit the brief entirely, collecting up some of their earlier, harder to obtain cuts on their own self-titled label or Musicology alter ego together with a crop of new recordings for their debut album proper.  Extracting plenty of influence from the more soulful Detroit 2nd Wave together with dashes of early bleep 'n bass to create lush, misty-eyed electronica that has endured to this day - from the emotional bottom-lip-wobbling electro of 'Hall Of Mirrors' to the future-optimism on 'Basic Emotion' or crisp 4x4 pomp of 'Obsessed', these recordings form a backbone of influence that has supported producers and derivative styles ever since... (NM).

A1 Soundtrack Of Space 4:02
A2 Hall Of Mirrors 6:36
B1 Mondrin 6:42
B2 Obsessed 5:47
C1 Bio Dimension 5:52
C2 Basic Emotion 4:49
C3 Metropolis 4:55
D1 Obtuse 7:21
D2 Telefone 529 4:08
D3 Drift 4:09