A Happy Return - Drashel
A Happy Return - Drashel
A Happy Return - Drashel
A Happy Return - Drashel

A Happy Return - Drashel

Regular price £21.00 Sale

Label: Spillage Fete Records – SFRLP009
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition
Country: UK
Released: 2022
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Ambient, Experimental

A second world-in-a-grain-of-sand LP of domestic cosmic from A Happy Return on the cult Spillage Fete label.

When I was a kid I always daydreamed about scale. What if the cracks in the path were river valleys? What if the stains on the skirting board were a mural? What if the dust under my bed contained multitudes? A Happy Return manage the same disorientating imaginary shifts in point of view on this second record. Something tells me we are definitely at home here, on an epic journey around a back bedroom, passing practice amps like blocks of flats and microphone stands like mobile masts. Sometimes the music operates at the usual spillage fete scale. There are minute-and-a-half-long miniatures that seem to hold more unhurried melodic invention that their scant running time can possibly contain. And sometimes when that melody disappears we are pitched right into the warp and weft of the carpet. If you need clues add to what the record actually sounds like I guess the first two Deux Filles records or Plinth’s Winter Songs might get you close. But when you’re trying to hold infinity in the palm of your hand who cares?  (Mint / new - with booklet - shop pls ask for wholesale)


1. Ages Beat 02:07
2. Clewe 02:46
3. Certes Pillow 02:03
4. Naming 01:23
5. Lodestone 01:44
6. Cave Flower 01:33
7. Drashel 02:46
8. Wings Dare 01:42
9. Wide Asunder 01:14
10. Lapsare 01:21
11. Wayfaring 01:44
12. Corners Blow 02:15
13. Love Of Clay 01:46
14. Fast The Ropes 02:03
15. Rigg'd Faire 02:24
16. Shewing 01:24
17. Weave A Shade 02:49