Tibor Szemző ‎– Private Exits - 8 Soundscapes From The Island
Tibor Szemző ‎– Private Exits - 8 Soundscapes From The Island

Tibor Szemző ‎– Private Exits - 8 Soundscapes From The Island

Regular price £0.00 Sale

Label: Hungaropop ‎– LP 012-25977-89
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Numbered
Country: Hungary
Released: 1989
Genre: Electronic, Classical, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Experimental, Ambient, Contemporary, Tribal

Tibor!  Singular cult release from respected Hungarian experimental composer Tibor Szemzo on his notoriously illusive 1989 LP ‘Private Exits: 8 Snapshots From The Island’ released on the influential Hungaropop label.  Originally composed to accompany the works of distinguished independent film marker Péter Forgács, the eight pieces on the album occupy their own undefinable pocket of composition that’s common to the late 80’s experimental scene of Budapest, much like fellow artists Másik János ‎and László Hortobágy, who having recently been freed from the shackles of state control over the music market, were able to explore their true artistic intentions.  There’s an odd clash between east and west throughout, with Western jazz nodes linking with Eastern percussion, whilst being underpinned by stark, crushing drum-machine programming.  I feel totally ill equip to even attempt wrap any language around this one, despite having very much ignited my own fascination with this late 80’s Hungarian scene (enough to go and knock on Tibor’s door in person a few years back).  The rough, tumbling funk of ‘Gaza Strip’, mellow, minimalistic, muted jazz on ‘Voyage’ or extended masterpiece ‘Without Adolf (For A Peyotist)’ - It’s the complete package, with the striking cover being copied from one of Szmezo’s fathers early agricultural magazines - a true holy grail.  (NM/NM - top copy).

Private Exits / 8 Snapshots From The Island
A1 Gaza Strip 6:25
A2 Steamy Whale 3:30
A3 Dolores 4:30
A4 Out Of The Blue 2:20
A5 Vandals 1:20
B1 Right On / Indian 4:15
B2 Without Adolf (For A Peyotist) 10:40
B3 Voyage 5:22