Space Afrika - Honest Labour
Space Afrika - Honest Labour

Space Afrika - Honest Labour

Regular price £22.00 Sale

Label: Dais Records – DAIS181LP
Format: Vinyl, LP, Marble Smoke
Country: US
Released: 27 Aug 2021
Genre: Electronic, Hip Hop, Pop, Classical
Style: Abstract, Experimental, Ambient, Illbient, Trip Hop, Sound Collage

Much-loved Manchester heavyweights Space Afrika land on Dais with their feverishly anticipated breakout LP ‘Honest Labour’ - the summation of 7 years+ hard graft and dedication that sees the duo build upon their dub-inflicted, decayed dance music beginnings, thru the city-dwelling ambient soundscapes of 2018 Sferic debut Somewhere Decent To Live and more recent collaged offerings HYBTWIBT / Untitled (To Describe You).  Its a story of triumph and tragedy, both public and private, that sees the duo weave their own uniquely Northern narrative through what it means to be Black and British in 2021, knitting together a tapestry of emotionally-charged scene-setting soundscapes, gritted trip-hop, slickly-produced dream pop skits and elegant modern classical takes that are at times equally confronting as they are comforting.  Harsh cuts between scenes maintain the diaristic feel and expand upon the pair’s sound collaging talents that underpin their popular NTS Radio residency, whilst specific soundbites are stripped and deployed to reinforce the narrative.  With a work that’s so varied and genre-dissolving it feels like a disservice to highlight any points individually, but the Blackhaine featuring ‘B£E’ stands out, where syrupy breaks and weeping strings are poured into the open wounds of the Lancastrian rapper’s visceral wordplay, as does the intimate downbeat piece ‘U’ featuring vocalist Kinsey Lloyd that diverts away from the obvious route of production, whilst the sobbing cello notes on goosebump inducing closer ‘Honest Labour’ will having you reaching for the tissue box.  I could go on and on!  A flawless, jaw-dropping, 360° distillation of UK culture high and low rendered into a vast emotional spectrum and with all obvious bias right out front here - album of the year 2021!  (NM)

1 Yyyyyy2222
2 Indigo Grit Ft. Guest
3 Lose You Beau
4 Solemn
5 LV
6 Preparing The Perfect Response ~
7 Ny Interlude
8 Rings (feat. Guest)
9 Noise Sweet
10 B£E (feat. Blackhaine)
11 Like Orchids
12 Meet Me At Sachas
13 U (feat. Kinsey Lloyd)
14 <>
15 Girl Scout Cookies (feat. Bianca Scout)
16 Ladybird Drone
17 With Your Touch
18 Strength (feat. La Timpa)
19 Honest Labour (feat. Hforspirit)