Sioux  / Navajo  – Music Of The Sioux And The Navajo
Sioux  / Navajo  – Music Of The Sioux And The Navajo

Sioux / Navajo – Music Of The Sioux And The Navajo

Regular price £15.00 Sale

Label: Folkways Records – FE 4401
Series: Ethnic Folkways Library – FE 4401
Format: Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Released: 1966
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk

This 1949 album was recorded by American ethnomusicologist Willard Rhodes (190—1992) with the cooperation of The United States Office of Indian Affairs. The selection from the Sioux community of the Dakotas include a Rabbit Dance and other love songs, a Sun Dance, and an Honoring (or public recognition) Song. The Navajo tribes of the Southwest are highlighted through songs such as a Riding Song, a children’s Song of Happiness, a female Spinning Dance, and the distinctive Night Chant, sung in male falsetto. (VG+/VG+)

A1 Benjamin Sitting Up, Lucy Randall, Paul High Horse, Oliver Standing Bear and Jonas Quiver– Rabbit Dance
A2 Unknown Artist– Peyote Cult Song
A3 Unknown Artist– Love Song
A4 Unknown Artist– Sun Dance
A5 Unknown Artist– Omaha Dance
A6 John Coloff– Flute Song
A7 Unknown Artist– Honoring Song
B1 Unknown Artist– Riding Song
B2 Unknown Artist– Song Of Happiness
B3 Julia Deal– Spinning Dance
B4 Julia Deal– Spinning Dance
B5 Unknown Artist– Corn Grinding Song
B6 Unknown Artist– Squaw Dance
B7 Ambrose Roan Horse– Silversmith's Song
B8 Unknown Artist– Night Chant (Yeibichai Dance)