Various - LLI008 Compilation
Various - LLI008 Compilation
Various - LLI008 Compilation
Various - LLI008 Compilation

Various - LLI008 Compilation

Regular price £16.00 Sale

Label: Laura Lies In ‎– LLI008
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: UK
Released: 2020
Genre: Electronic, Pop, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Experimental

A predictably odd and eclectic affair on this big family outing on the excellent Laura Lies In label..the powerhouse behind the much-loved Tara Clerkin Trio LP of earlier this year.  Given the square-pegs-in-round-holes asthetic of the imprint there’s little in terms of genre signifiers that unites the comp, instead it’s tied together by the spirit of true originality.  Highlights?  All of it to be honest.. the initial pots and pans rhythm play sets it up for wonky beginnings, moving through delay-drenched electronics from Conal Blake and off-grid exploration via DJ Marcelle, ending with an deeply zoned Ellen Fullman styled string drone + monologue courtesy of label head James Marrs and Belgian artist Ju Canon.  B-side serves up melodic slo-mo heartbreak pop from Tony Njoku, followed by Vanessa’s ‘Test’ - a bubbling minimal synth piece with vocals and the final, eye-wateringly beautiful angelic vocal piece from Astrid Sonne.  Inside there’s a (surprisingly luxurious) colour printed booklet of mixed artworks, drawings, writings and more from the label’s extended reach of local artists working within a range of different mediums.  Think a sorta miniature art-exhibition for eyes and ears that can be neatly filed away for your convenience.  An Ingenious offering from this taste-making UK label… (With booklets - Mint / New)

1 –Simon Benjamin - Vera Boila 04:12
2 –Conal Blake Group Loop 04:30
3 –DJ Marcelle/Another Nice Mess Of Course, Why Do You Ask? 07:41
4 –James Marrs Image May Contain feat. Ju Canon 06:58
5 –Tony Njoku The Ghost That Escaped (Rework) 03:07
6 –Vanessa Test 04:13
7 –Astrid Sonne Strong, Calm, Slow (Original Version) 07:18