Susumu Yokota ‎– Grinning Cat
Susumu Yokota ‎– Grinning Cat

Susumu Yokota ‎– Grinning Cat

Regular price £42.00 Sale

Label: Leaf ‎– BAY 17V
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: UK
Released: 04 Jun 2001
Genre: Electronic
Style: Downtempo, Experimental

Another moment of genius nestled deep within multi-faceted Japanese producer Susumu Yokota’s baffling discography, 2001 LP ‘Grinning Cat’ for the Leaf label, following up his revered ambient classic ‘Sakura’ that came two years earlier.  Reportedly influenced by move to the Tokyo suburbs and spending time playing with his girlfriend’s cats, Susumu expertly creates his own fanciful atmosphere through a tapestry of electronically processed organic elements.  Piano features heavily, setting a nostalgic scene, joined by wind chimes, handclaps, drum-loops, acoustic guitar and inventive use of sampling throughout.  There’s elements of jazz, Eno-informed ambience and west-coast minimalism, the percussive onslaught of ‘Lapis Lazuli’ an obvious tribute to Reich’s ‘Music For 18 Musicians’, whilst ‘Tears Of A Poet’ builds over tinkering piano hits, wilting jazz sax notes and a house-style tempo.  But it’s the mood of the whole thing, cohesive, immersive and always inventive.  Certainly the work of uniquely talented artist fully in the zone and perfectly encapsulating what’s in their imagination.  One of the best of its kind.. (NM/NM).

A1 I Imagine
A2 King Dragonfly
A3 Card Nation
A4 Balloon In A Cage
B1 Lapis Lazuli
B2 Cherry Blossom
B3 Sleepy Eye
C1 Love Bird
C2 Fearful Dream
C3 Tears Of A Poet
D1 Flying Cat
D2 So Red
D3 Lost Child