Mono Fontana – Cribas
Mono Fontana – Cribas

Mono Fontana – Cribas

Regular price £34.00 Sale

Label: Silent River Runs Deep – SR2D-1007
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Limited Edition, Reissue
Country: Japan
Released: 18 Aug 2021
Genre: Electronic, Non-Music, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Field Recording, Ambient

Originally released on CD in 2007 and now given a public-service double-vinyl reissue by Japanese label Silent River Runs Deep, Cribas is the fourth album from Argentine pianist Mono Fontana. It’s a completely immersive and singular LP of modern composition - piano, strings, hand drums, found vocals and field recordings - that goes way beyond the standard limitations of this kind of stuff. What really cuts through here are the dynamics: sometimes the piano meanders in late night ballad mode, sometimes it proceeds in courtly arpeggios and sometimes it just takes off.  Hitch this kind of playing to a detailed sound world of whispering chanting, breathing, horses hooves, radio voices and faint folk song and you have something massively affecting and absorbing.  Late night ivory keys linger within ghostly trails of your favourite Ocora records (Burundi, Musique Centrafricaine, Tibet.. at least, many more), creating a hypnotic, 4 dimensional sound picture where fleeting memories appear then fade away and a familiar feel of nostalgia hangs heavy in the air.  The closest things to it might be the warmer, more playful side of Alvin Curran or the collaged quiet moments from Pierrot Lunaire’s Italian art-prog masterpiece Gudrun. That good.. (Mint / New)


A1 Persistente Canción De La Memoria 4:28
A2 Pasos 2:23
3 Gotas 4:22
A4 La Silla 3:58
A5 Tarde, De Tu Lado 4:12
B1 Miro Una Estrella 3:26
B2 Letras Del Cuerpo 5:09
B3 ¿Azar? 1:31
B4 La Culpa No Se Lava Contra La Piedra 4:57
B5 Comienza A Llamarlo 5:10
C1 Árbol Del Silencio 5:09
C2 Jaula Guarida 3:22
C3 Billiken 1:55
C4 Cuando Regreses, Si Es Que Regresas... 5:52
C5 La Carta 3:51
D1 Disparado Sin Arco 5:08
D2 Go 8:02
D3 Dos Arbolitos 4:41