Kitchen Cynics ‎– Beads Upon An Abacus
Kitchen Cynics ‎– Beads Upon An Abacus

Kitchen Cynics ‎– Beads Upon An Abacus

Regular price £20.00 Sale

Label: The Trilogy Tapes ‎– TTT093
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: UK
Released: Jan 2021
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk, Neofolk, Experimental

The Trilogy Tapes takes a left-turn drilling into the spiralling discography of Aberdeen’s hermetic and mind-bogglingly prolific folk project Kitchen Cynics.  Despite knocking out more releases that most artists could ever dream of, it’s easy to miss Alan Davidson’s output having mostly featured on his own label Les Enfants Du Paradiddle and a few other micro-tape runs, but his own woolly brand of DIY folk feels as developed and relevant as any in the field.  There’s a real breadth to the song writing, drifting between deep-country acid-folk, brooding camp fire electronics, melancholic acoustic pieces and jangly piano skits whilst keeping the roots planted firmly in the soil.  There’s more than a few moments that recall Flaming Tunes, both sharing the same DIY sensibility and sense of musical independence.. (NM)

A1 Theme For Gwen
A2 Dr Guild
A3 Mistress Forsyth's Jump
A4 Holburning
A5 Persian Carpet In Reverse
B1 Dr MacQueen Feeds The Media Frenzy
B2 Phosphorus Tenement
B3 Bluetit Babies
B4 Beads Upon An Abacus
B5 The Entrepreneurs