Jan Van den Broeke ‎– 11000 Dreams
Jan Van den Broeke ‎– 11000 Dreams

Jan Van den Broeke ‎– 11000 Dreams

Regular price £22.00 Sale

Label: STROOM 〰 ‎– STRLP-005
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition, Repress
Country: Belgium
Released: Jan 2018
Genre: Electronic
Style: Minimal, Synthwave

Introverted, melancholic wave / pop cuts plucked from Jan V.D.B's self-released back-catalogue  .. (NM)

The third release on STROOM 〰 is introvert music gold by Jan Van den Broeke, the man behind the eighties diy / lofi wave outfits Absent Music, June11 and The Misz. Van den Broeke, now a renowned architect, self released most of his music on cassettes and CDR's. Recently some of his stuff was reissued through labels such as EE Tapes or Walhalla Records, but this is his first career spanning compilation, covering over 30 years of music, carefully selected by Nosedrip and Jan himself. Van den Broeke tried to cover the gap between ambient and song, with music assembled in layers, using electronic and acoustic instruments and samples from radio, tv, field recordings, old tapes, movies and so on. As a youngster of his time & place, he was heavily influenced by the output of labels like Les Disques du Crépuscule and Crammed, but the compilation shows an intense research towards a personal sound.

PS1: My third release is numbered STRLP-005. I know that's a bit weird, but it totally makes sense to me and that's the most important thing, trust me. Plus with the arrival of F/W 2017-2018, all will be clear.

PS2: At the same time EE Tapes will release a CD+DVD of the audiovisual exposition "CHEZ RENEE". It also comes as a digital bonus with STRLP-005.
"Chez Renée" was a project of Renée Lodewyckx.

The music for the opening of the exhibition, act and video was composed between October 87 - February 88.

The premiere took place on 19 March 88 at Avantgrade Gallerij - Antwerp (B).

A1 –June11 White Bird 3:46
A2 –Absent Music Akahito 3:21
A3 –Absent Music My Lesbian Girlfriends 3:03
A4 –Absent Music The Monkey House 2:40
A5 –Absent Music The Desert 2:52
A6 –The Misz A La Recherche De B.L. 4:13
A7 –The Misz Free At Last 4:16
B1 –June11 Jehudah 6:03
B2 –June11 Who Is Still Dreaming? 3:33
B3 –June11 Memories 4:24
B4 –June11 The Luckiest Man 3:40
B5 –June11 A Peaceful Vale 5:05