Watutsi ‎– Songs Of The Watutsi
Watutsi ‎– Songs Of The Watutsi

Watutsi ‎– Songs Of The Watutsi

Regular price £25.00 Sale

Label: Folkways Records ‎– FE 4428
Series: Ethnic Folkways Library –
Format: Vinyl, LP, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 1963
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: African

 Timeless collection of ethnographic recordings on Folkway Ethnic Library focusing on the Watutsi people who originate from around the Great Lakes of Central Africa.  This one was recorded in Rwanda in 1952 and is a varied collection of traditional music; songs of love, victory, war, praise, victory, epics, hunting, cattle and more, utilising just voice and their uniquely beautiful, deeply resonant harp.  One that really highlights the intrinsic importance of music and how it maintains the backbone of traditional cultures and societies. (Vinyl & Sleeve VG++ - with booklet)  


A1 Women Of The Queen Mother's House– Uwejeje Imana
A2 Women Of The Queen Mother's House– Inka Yi Abajiji
A3 Muyunzwe– Exploits Of The Urwintwali
A4 Muyunzwe– Ibabazabahizi
A5 Muyunzwe– Warriors Of The Urwintwali
A6 Rusendezagekwe– Song Of King Rwogera's Era
B1 Murunganwa– Amahamba
B2 Ruhumiliza– Inganji Mu Milimba
B3 Rwandoka, Ruhumiliza, Naho (3), Ruhenzi– Imigemba
B4 Ruhenzi– Ikigwiti
B5 Ruhenzi– Amararo
B6 Unknown Artist– Munyangago